Chicon 2000

Sidewise Awards

Rev. 21-Aug-2000
Previous: Prometheus Awards
(Table of Contents) Next: Webs of Wonder Awards

Steven H Silver,

See also:

Other Worldly Awards, Fairmont Hotel - Crystal Room, Third Floor. Saturday, 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm.

The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were conceived in late 1995 to honor the best "genre" publications of the year, and the first awards were announced in summer 1996. The award take sit name from Murray Leinster's 1934 short story "Sidewise in Time", in which a strange storm causes portions of Earth to swap places with their analogs from other timelines.

Two awards are given each year. To be considered, a work must have either first English-language publication or first American publication in the calendar year prior to the year in which the award is to be presented. In other words, awards announced in 1997 honored works published in 1996 and were called the "1996 Sidewise Awards." The Short-Form Award is presented for the best work of less than 60,000 words. This includes short stories, novelettes and novellas, and poems. The Long-Form Award is presented for the best work longer than 60,000 words. This category individual novels and longer works. If a book is part of a series, it must be able to stand on its own to be considered. If it is part of a serial novel - a series in which the storyline in continuous and no volume can stand on its own - the complete serial novel will be considered at such time as the final volume is published.

In addition, at the discretion of the judges, a Special Achievement Award may be presented to honor a specific work or for a significant body of work which was published prior to the inception of the award, i.e., before 1995.

The judges for the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History are pleased to announce the finalists for the 1999 Sidewise Awards.

Nominee for Best Long-Form Alternate History

Nominees for Best Short-Form Alternate History

Award for Special Achievement

Nominations for the 2000 Sidewise Awards, for stories and novels published during 2000, are open until 31-Mar-2001. See Sidewise Awards for Alternate History [www] for more information.

Judges: Moshe Feder, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Robert Schmunk, Stuart Shiffman, Steven Silver.

Previous: Prometheus Awards
(Table of Contents) Next: Webs of Wonder Awards

Top | Table of Contents | What's New | Register | Help